Two weeks after finishing my Spartan Beast in Ohio I had the Super in Virginia. It was at a new venue this year, which presented a whole new experience. But was it a good one? Read on to find out!

To the best of my knowledge, as long as the Virginia Super has existed it was held at Wintergreen Ski resort in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Having a race at a ski resort presents all sorts of interesting elevation challenges. The first race I did there in 2014 was without a doubt the hardest thing I have ever done physically. I had a hard time even walking for almost a week after that race. It took me over 7 hours to complete and my entire body was trashed at the end. No joke; I was so tired at the end of the race I couldn’t even do the fire jump. I actually had to step right into the fire to finish the race. I have a photo to prove it! This race became one of the more legendary races in the circuit. In fact, the race was so tough that the most common thing I heard in my three races on that mountain was “I’m never doing this again!!”. And I think those people meant it. I feel like every year there were less and less participants. This might just be my observation, but if you look at the finisher data, the total number of finishers goes down every year. I think that from a business standpoint Spartan couldn’t have that race anymore as they were losing repeat business.

It’s a real shame. I loved that course. While it was long and grueling it was also a blast and it was something you always felt proud about when you went home, no matter how well you did, you finished it, and that’s enough! Being that I am finally doing something about my fitness I was eager to take on that course again and do better than ever before. My fastest time was a little over 7 hours, but my slowest was over 9. I had something to prove to that course and, sadly, it looks like I won’t get the chance to do it.

Even so, it’s always nice to try new things and to see new places. The new venue for the Virginia Super is Infinity Downs in Arrington Virginia. Not far from Wintergreen this farm provided plenty of space to run around and get muddy. The one thing it did not have was elevation change. This was a very flat and fast course. Which made it a lot more fun than Wintergreen, but it was much easier.

The course itself wasn’t overly demanding, but most of the trails you were running on were blazed just for this race, which means that there were a LOT of 1-2 inch tall sapling stumps in the fallen leaves. A lot of the trail running was very difficult for this reason and if you didn’t have strong ankles you were sure to roll your ankle at some point. Actually, this is the first time I’ve ever tripped and fallen to the ground in the 12 Spartan Races I’ve competed in. A witness declared that it was a graceful fall and she gave me a 10/10 on it, which made me feel much better about it! I liked that it had this extra challenge because it helped keep it more interesting since there wasn’t much elevation change.

I really liked the layout of this race. There were plenty of obstacles nicely spread out over the first few miles. Then it went to mostly trail running for the majority of the rest of the race. The last few miles had another good collection of obstacles in rapid succession. I don’t know why I didn’t find them quite as exhausting as I typically do, but I think it might have had something to do with the layout and arrangement of the obstacles. They did put the rope climb, Olympus, and the spear throw within sight of each other, which is pretty cruel. Luckily, I only failed two of those three and I completed Olympus for the first time! In fact, I only failed three obstacles this race, which means only 90 burpees. Until now 120 burpees was the lowest number I’ve had to complete in a race, so I’d say that’s some progress!

I guess I can’t get into failed obstacles without talking about Twister. They put this guy right before the slip wall and the fire jump, so the finish line is literally a stone’s throw away. I haven’t ever completed Twister before, but I was feeling good about defeating Olympus and the multi-rig (I have done this one before, once, but my feet did hit the ground a little and while I didn’t stand I still kinda felt guilty about it). So I decided it’s right at the end I’m going to give it my all and finish strong! Much to my amazement I was doing really well on it! It was three lengths long, which meant two transition areas. The first leg was no problem really. The second leg went pretty smoothly. I lost a little time as I was awkwardly grasping the supports on the transition to the third section. This made me a little nervous and may have contributed to what happened next. I was about 3 rungs away from the bell. One more rung I and I think I could have reached out and smacked that bell victorious! My grip was failing, but I felt I had it in me. As I reached out for that last rung with my right hand my left hand gave out, the callus right below my ring finger tore off and it caused my hand to slip. I was devastated. I was so close, I was right there! Anyway, it was 30 burpees for me, right at the end of the race. Such a disappointment! Even though I failed it, I did really well, which means I know I can complete it next time! I put a pic of my injured hand below, don’t scroll all the way down if blood makes you queasy. The ladies at the medical tent said I was about the 10th person they had come in with the same injury from the same obstacle, so at least I wasn’t alone in my condition.

Spartan did a really good job with this race. Everything was well spaced, including the water stations. I really think it was a pretty great race overall, though It’s hard to think about it without comparing it to Wintergreen. It was a different race for sure, but it was a lot of fun, so I won’t complain. I hope one day they bring Wintergreen back so I can give it one more shot. But if not I will enjoy racing this venue again in the future. I am still missing the FitAid at the end of the races though. Spartan places the blame on FitAid for not showing up, but it doesn’t matter whose fault it is, they need something at the end. A banana and a dixie cup of water are not enough after an event like that. They had protein drinks before they had FitAid, now it’s just water. Whatever it is, I think they need to step it up a little. I get better goodies at the end of a 5k than I do at Spartan Races now, and that is disappointing.

My third Spartan is in the books and I have first Trifecta of the year! After running these races I am getting a little more confident overall, but it is also starting to make me worry about the West Virginia Trifecta weekend coming up in August. My body is starting to break down around mile 7-8. If you see my post about the Ohio Beast you’ll see I had some fatigue and cramping issues. Those same issues popped up in the same spot this race. Which, in a way, is good. I know what’s weak and I can work on it. But it’s making the threat of this race real. If I really want to attempt to do this event I’m going to need to fully commit to it. It’s going to take everything I’ve got. Especially since it’s a championship race and it’s in the mountains. It’s going to be a killer, one that will be talked about in the future, I am willing to bet. I want to be able to have a good story to tell when I talk about it. Here are a few pictures from the race!

3 thoughts on “Spartan Race: Virginia Super 6/3/17

Leave a Reply

