Ketosis: Six Months of Eating a Ketogenic Diet

Well, it has officially been six months since I started eating a ketogenic diet and the results are in! I seriously never thought I’d make it this far; I’ve always been such a food junkie I thought I would have cracked by now. I think the most remarkable thing from this whole journey is how easy it was to not crack. The hardest part is just figuring out how to eat differently. All of my favorite foods were very carb-heavy: Burgers, fries, pizza, pasta, sweets, rice, anything breaded and so on. It took a few weeks to months to figure out how I was going to live without carbs. It’s funny because I figured the cravings and temptations would be what got me, but really the challenge has been restructuring the way I eat. Once I got the hang of it though it has all been much easier. I don’t even really have to think about it anymore, it’s almost second nature.
I posted recently about what the past few months on a ketogenic diet has done to my bloodwork. It’s amazing to see such positive results in such a short time. These results are really only half of the picture though, the half that you can’t see. I think, even though the numbers in your blood work aren’t very glamorous and you’re not going to get any compliments on them when you walk into a room, that they are probably even more important than numbers on the scale. It feels great losing weight. It feels great having more energy. It feels great not being hungry and grumpy all the time. Even better than all of that is knowing that you’re not only looking better but also that you’re healthier on the inside.
I will get to the weight loss numbers in just a moment, but first I want to talk about my experience with working out while on a Ketogenic diet. Conventional wisdom states that you need to be fueling your body with a good amount of carbs to be able to perform athletically. Conventional wisdom states that you need to be guzzling protein to build muscle. Conventional wisdom tells you to cut calories to lose weight. I can’t stress enough how shocked I was to find all that wisdom was so wrong. Ok, well, it’s not wrong, but it’s by no means a definitive rule. I haven’t been watching my calories, I haven’t been eating carbs and I haven’t taken any extra protein, just what’s already in my diet. I have been doing this for six months now and have experienced more weight loss than I did in a year when I tried this the conventional way. I kept records of all my old workouts and I am pretty much in the same place after six months as I was after a year of doing the same workouts before. There are some moves that I’m still lagging in, but there are some where I’m actually doing better than my previous workouts. I am not having any trouble finding energy to get my workouts done. I’m able to push myself hard and can sustain that effort just as well as I ever have. I had my doubts about it when I first started, just because it was going against everything I had ever heard, but I’m living proof that this diet gets results!
data
Here is all of my weight/fat data for months 3-6. The data for the first three months is available in a previous post.
You can’t talk about a Ketogenic diet without talking about fat loss! I am pleased to say that I have plenty to talk about in this department. In six months of eating a ketogenic diet I have been able to lose 50 total pounds! Of those 50 pounds 43 of them came directly from fat!! When I had lost weight several years ago it took me an entire year to lose this much weight. I am beyond impressed with my body’s ability to shed this excess fat. I had always assumed that body fat was just stubborn and that it was a constant uphill battle to lose it. How wrong I was!
I was hoping to be able to write in this post that I had made it under 250 lbs (113 kg) in the six months. Unfortunately, I didn’t make that goal. I finished right at 250. You can see me stall out in the graph below. I was trying really hard to be extra Keto those last few days and shed just one extra pound, but my body wasn’t convinced. I think that I learned an important lesson though. I have made great progress and I need to be more appreciative of what I have lost and I need to stop focusing so much on what I need to lose. My body is smart and it knows what to do; I need to trust it. Once this realization sunk in I calmed down a little and gave control back over to my body. My body responded positively to that and it was kind enough to drop me below the 250 mark, albeit a few days after the six months were up. I’ve been fluctuating a little the past few days, but my overall weight and body fat have dropped a good amount in the few days following the six month anniversary.
graph
This is a graph for the entire six months. As you can see at the end I hit a wall right at the 250 mark. I’d be more upset about it I hadn’t already broken through that wall. 🙂

 

I still have about 35 pounds to go before I get to a point where I feel like I’m comfortable, but if I keep this up I should easily be there before summer’s end. It’s a good feeling to have worked toward a goal and to finally be able to see the finish line. That’s not to say I’m going to quit Keto when I’ve reached my goal, I think I’ve learned that my body does much better in Ketosis than out of it. But at least I won’t have my body image haunting me every time I look in the mirror.

If you haven’t tried a Ketogenic diet yet, I highly recommend it. Of course, it’s not for everyone  and you should do your research if you’ve got any pre-existing medical conditions. I have had great success with it and I can easily say, without being cliché, that it has changed my life. I only wish I had learned about this sooner. Is anyone else out there on a Ketogenic journey? Do you have any Questions? I’d love to hear about what is working and not working for you. I know everyone is different and I think it’d be interesting to compare experiences.
4 thoughts on “Ketosis: Six Months of Eating a Ketogenic Diet

  1. What does an average day look like on this diet? I’ve read varying things. At 45 my body doesn’t lose weight much. And I’ve had 9 months of up and down workouts due to health and injuries. I’m kind of desperate at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really depends on you and what you want to eat. My recommendations are really to eat as many plants as you can. That should be the bulk of what you eat. If you can get all your fats from healthy sources like avocados, coconut oil and olive oil. Meat is fine, but now a days it’s all lean cuts and factory farmed stuff. So if you get chicken get the skin on and eat darker meats. It was hard for me at first trying to figure what I could eat since I ate Soooo many carbs. But experiment with stuff and once you find what works it’s really pretty easy! I say give it a shot, it might work for you it might not, but it has done wonders for my weight and overall health.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

