Biometric Test Results After Five Months on a Ketogenic Diet

I have to say I am very excited about this post. Before I started all of this I had tried to find somewhere locally that would test my blood, but I wasn’t able to find a place that would do it. It’s a shame because I would love to  know what kind of a mess I had got myself into. There’s no point in looking back though, eyes forward to the future! A future that is a little bit brighter after getting back my blood work!

I have to admit, even though I know the science and I have heard countless testimonials about how good a ketogenic diet can be for you, I was a little skeptical. Eating so much fat? I have been told my whole life how bad fat is for you. Was I killing myself? I know I’m young enough that it wouldn’t likely be irreparable, but what if I was actually hurting myself just to be a little thinner? Despite my concerns I decided to trust the experts and go for it head first.

Apparently I have a clinic in my office building that does these tests. I had no clue, but it’s been there the whole time. I felt a little silly, but as soon as I learned about the tests I signed up right away. I was nervous that I was going to get some really bad news; even if it wasn’t a result of the high fat diet I was worried that my years of indolence and poor eating habits had done some really bad damage. It turns out that all of my concerns were unfounded and I was pleasantly surprised by my results!

  • Blood Pressure: 106/78
    • Should be under 120/80
  • LDL Cholesterol: 68
    • Should be under 100
  • HDL Cholesterol: 26
    • Should be over 40, but ideally over 60
  • Total Cholesterol: 104
    • Should be under 200
  • Total/HDL Ratio: 4:1
    • Should be < 3.5:1
  • Triglycerides: 53
    • Should be under 150
  • Glucose: 94
    • Should be under 100

As you can see, everything is looking pretty good! My blood pressure was a real shocker. I took my blood pressure before I started all of this and it was a whopping 144/99.  Not only  did I have a dramatic drop in blood pressure, but it’s as good or better than I it has ever been. When I was a healthy body weight and was exercising regularly the best I saw it was 112/72. It’s pretty close, but I would say it’s definitely in the right area and I think I can make it even better.

The only spot of concern was my really low HDL cholesterol. I am a little confused as to why this number is so low and I need to do more research on why that might be. The nurse was slightly concerned about it and said that since I’ve been eating cleanly and losing weight that it was probably even lower than that to start with. Luckily, my LDL was low enough that it’s not an immediate concern. If I continue to do what I am doing it should continue to rise and I should be fine. Also, the total cholesterol/HDL ratio is a bit off, but that is simply a byproduct of the low HDL number. That will resolve itself as my HDL rises.

My glucose was a little disappointing too, even though it was in the healthy range. I think that I might know why it was as high as it was. I had the test on a Monday and the preceding  Saturday night, without thinking about the upcoming test, I had a carb-up cheat meal. I definitely had enough carbs to knock me out of Ketosis for at least a day if not two. The resulting circulating glucose was likely the remnants of that meal. It’s also possible that I am a lot more insulin resistant than I would like to believe. I am getting tested again in the fall; by then I expect both my HDL and blood glucose to be significantly better.

I think that it’s pretty clear I made the right decision. It’s pretty incredible how much you can improve your circumstances in such a short time. It’s also incredible how wrong the current health paradigm is. I think I’ve realized an important thing through this journey. I think it’s important to always do your due diligence before accepting anything as fact. You’re going to hear a lot of conflicting information from a lot of well qualified people. It can be dizzying trying to sort through it all. The best advice I could give is to do the research, see both sides of anything and then make your most informed decision. Ketosis has been amazing for me, but it might not be for everyone. I know that I am on the right track and I am thrilled about my progress. It’s seeing results like this that make it all worthwhile.

 

Leave a Reply

