I think we can all agree that it’s a refreshing thing to say “Good Bye ”
to 2016. While the changing of the days really doesn’t mean much, I think the symbolism behind celebrating the new year can do a lot of good. I think people who are very goal oriented can be more successful if a plan is laid out ahead of time and there is a clear starting point. I know some people criticize new year’s resolutions because most don’t follow through with, but that doesn’t mean we should ever stop trying to improve ourselves. Even three months sticking to a resolution is much better than not doing it at all.

This year I wanted to stay away from any generic, empty resolutions like ‘losing weight’ or ‘eating healthy’. While both of those are components of my resolutions, I wanted them to be more specific and measurable. I wanted all of my goals to tie into my health and fitness goal. I also wanted to make them things that I though were achievable. It’s one thing if you try really hard and miss your goal, but it’s another to set yourself up for failure right from the start. It would be a miserable year chasing an unachievable goal.

Without further ado, here is the list of resolutions/goals I have set for myself for 2017:

  1. Run a sub 5 minute mile
  2. Be able to perform 10 consecutive pull-ups
  3. Reach goal weight of 215 lbs (97.5 kg) and 15% body fat
  4. Touch my toes to the ground in plow pose

It shouldn’t be any surprise about resolution number one, and even though I’ve previously committed to that goal, it is meant to be completed in 2017 so I think I still use it!

Resolution two is there for two reasons. The first reason is that I’ve never been good at pull-ups. If I remember correctly the most I’ve ever done was three and that was when I was in high school. Even when I lost weight and got in pretty good shape for my wedding I could quite complete one. I am no where close to doing a single pull-up right now, so this is also an ambitious goal. The second part to it is that if I am able to do ten pull-ups it will be an indicator to me that I’ve finally mastered body weight activities. These can be a challenge for anyone, but especially so for someone who is carrying a bunch of extra weight. If I can get to a point where I am doing ten in a row I think it’d be safe to say I’m more fit all around. Having a stronger back will also be invaluable for my upcoming race season. I would love to not have to ask for anyone’s help getting over those walls.

The third resolution will assist in every resolution. I picked these numbers because I had to pick something. At the end of the day I’m not very concerned about my weight but I do have a certain body type in mind that I’d like to achieve. I have a feeling it’s somewhere around these numbers. The heaviest I will be while still considering myself successful is 220 and the lightest would be 200 (90.7 kg). I was below 200 lbs when I was in high school and I’m not trying to get back to that point. I was too skinny and didn’t have enough muscle mass. I was also 6% body fat in high school. Knowing that I think I’d be ok to be at 15% now, but I might adjust that once I get there. It’s hard to know what that is going to look like until it happens. My starting body fat was around 36% so even if at 15% I’m still carrying a little extra weight I think that improvement will still be something to be proud of.

The last resolution is similar to number two. I haven’t ever been able to nail plow pose. I think with my workouts and building muscle (especially in my back to reach goal two) I need to be sure to focus on my spine health. I have been making small attempts to improve my posture and eliminate some of my back pain. I think if I can get my spine in shape enough to do this pose a lot of these ailments will vanish on their own. Since the spine connects everything else in the body if I can get it flexible enough to properly do plow I think it will also reflect on an overall body improvement. I think this one in particular will be a good way to improve and gauge my overall flexibility.

Again, I want to wish everyone a happy new year! I hope everyone setting goals this year can summon the strength to stick to them and can find a way to improve their lives. We are all in constant change, we can’t avoid that, so it’s time to take the reins and guide yourself to the place you actually want to be. You are the only thing standing in your way. There are so many things out there that try everyday to bring you down, don’t let yourself be one of those things contributing to your own unhappiness. You can change it, and you will change it, if you want it bad enough and put in the work. Success is inevitable. Go get it!

Leave a Reply

