Pulse Check: Timed mile on a track

img_20161119_082645334_hdrAfter writing my recent posts about my progress and about my performance in the recent 8K I was really wondering how my mile time was coming along. So I made some time this past weekend and made it out to the track!!

It was a little chilly, but overall it was quite a nice morning for a run. I was a little nervous since I had run the preceding Thursday and then did a leg workout on the Friday. When I was warming up and stretching things were definitely sore and tight. Despite all that I was out there and I was going to do what I set out to do!

The first lap went pretty well. I was feeling fairly strong and confident. My breathing was in check and my form was pretty good. I definitely felt I was off to a good start. My fatigue started catching up to me during lap 2. I still felt I was moving at a good pace but it was a little harder to maintain. Laps 3 and 4 both went better than lap 2. I know I’m improving because I was able to sprint at the end of this one! If you watched my sluggish performance in my initial Evaluation video you can see I didn’t really pick up any speed in that last 100 meters. I was just dead and couldn’t summon the strength to move any faster; that was not the case this time. I was running at full steam and it felt really good!! It felt even better when I looked down and saw my time: 8:44!! When I started this journey my mile time was 9:45, which means I’ve chopped off over a minute from my previous time!! I am pretty pleased with the result! I kept track of my lap times for both runs, they are as follows:

8/14/16
Lap 1 – 2:15
Lap 2 – 4:43
Lap 3 – 7:17
Finish – 9:45:50

11/19/16
Lap 1 – 2:10
Lap 2 – 4:30
Lap 3 – 6:47
Finish – 8:44

If you’ve been following this blog you may remember me saying that I have a really hard time pacing a run and that I usually go out too hard in the beginning and struggle at the end. I think the splits for my first mile are evidence of that: my first lap was 2:15 and the next 3 splits range from 2:28 – 2:34. Since I’ve switched to doing timed runs, rather than for distance, my splits for this second mile changed dramatically. The first lap was 2:10. As I mentioned, the second lap was a little tougher so that one came in 2:20 later. But amazingly the splits for laps 3 and 4 were 2:17 and 1:57 respectively!! This is very exciting because I have never been known as someone who can pull off negative splits! I still did slow from my first lap, but overall there is only a 23 second deviation from my fastest to slowest lap and my first three laps were within 10 seconds of each other. I am very excited by this progress!

Due to the Thanksgiving holiday and some other family related issues I haven’t done any running since, but I have been keeping up with my regular workouts. Also, a few too many ‘allowances’ in my diet has made my weight loss has stall. I haven’t worked this hard to let it all get away from me though, and I am excited double down my focus starting tomorrow and get myself back on track! (Pun intended!)

Leave a Reply

