Evaluation

Today I am attempted to run my first timed mile since High School. Sure, I have run a mile in other events from time to time, but never on a track with a stopwatch. I am going to be using this run as a baseline for my performance/improvement.

I do have to say I was pleasantly surprised when I finished my mile in 9:45:50! It is not that I think this is a great time, but considering the shape I am and how the run felt I was most certain it was going to be well over ten minutes. I was definitely in the hurt box, but I managed to finish it and I didn’t stop to walk at all. Regardless of the outcome I did it, and now I know where I am. I am happy that I don’t have as much ground to make up as I thought.

The bad part though, is my form. I recorded the ordeal and would like to share some of it. The entire video is over 10 minutes long and trust me it’s not that exciting. The video I’ve included is simply a ‘highlights’ reel. I will be using this footage to study my form; so often you think you might look a certain way when you exercise but when you can actually see yourself it’s an entirely different story (cough, cough, yoga). I can hardly watch the video without cringing. I suppose the upside is that it can only get better from here.

Considering my mile time is almost double what I want it to be I definitely have my work cut out for me, and the task is a bit daunting. I do have faith that I will be able to overcome the obstacles, both mental and physical. I wish I could say I planned this journey to coincide with this year’s 2016 Olympics, but I can’t. Even though I didn’t plan it I can still take this as a sign that I am doing the right thing. There is more motivating than watching the best in the world compete to make you want to get up and do something yourself!

Since I ran a timed mile today, I am going to use today as the official start of my ‘year’. I have been doing some strength training for about a month now. I have had some issues with my knee, which I will detail at some point, but before I attempted this I wanted to have prepared my body a little to prevent further injury. My knee still feels pretty weak (surprisingly it felt fine on the run) and I am a little worried about it, but I think with smart training I can strengthen it back up and put these concerns behind me. So there you have it. The clock is ticking and I had better get going. Please check out the video and if you have any helpful comments about form, pace, etc. I would love to hear them, but I already know I look terrible so please be kind.

 

2 thoughts on “Evaluation

Leave a Reply

