Introduction

Hello, my name is Ron. I am 33 years old. In my life right now I am trying to learn how to navigate a great many new things. My wife and I just purchased our first home. The scope of my job has changed 180 degrees and it’s taking some adjustment, and there have been many speed bumps along the way. Most recently, my wife gave birth to the most amazing baby girl. My life today is dramatically different than it was at this time last year, and far different than I would have ever imagined.

With all of these recent changes to my life I thought perhaps it would be the right time to try to change one more, super important aspect of my life: My health. Once you crack 30 years old it does start to become apparent that your body is no longer the one you grew up with; things start to ache, things start to tighten up, and you joints begin popping and snapping with even the slightest movements. Well, at least this is what my experience after 30 has been thus far. Sometimes I see a candid photo of myself or I catch my reflection a certain way and for a moment I don’t even recognize myself. In fact, it’s quite alarming when in your reflection you see some large, meandering creep who has somehow sneaked up behind you. As I stand today I am 6’4″ (182.88cm) and right around 300lbs ( 136kg), the heaviest I’ve been in my entire life.

When I was younger I was a runner. I wasn’t ever quite good enough to look for any scholarships and I didn’t have any dreams of competing in the olympics, but I enjoyed it, and I wasn’t terrible at it. As I have aged I have found myself missing it more and more. Through the years I have competed in several races, mostly for nostalgia, and I have never performed up to my expectations. It’s difficult to not feel bad when you’re confronted with the fact that you’ve let yourself go so much. Regardless of the outcome though, it is still fun to compete. I do feel like I had more fun competing when I could perform better.This is what lands me here today.

When I was on my high school track team my fastest official mile time was a 6:01. I was a decent sprinter but I never had the stamina to keep moving fast for very long. My cross-country results can attest to that. My senior year of high school I had upped my miles and was seeing great results. So great in fact that one day in a practice 5K I reached the one mile mark and my coach read out the time: 5:58! I couldn’t believe it! Despite my disbelief tt was correct and I did manage to keep that first mile right around 6 minutes for the remainder of the season. I will outline my disappointment with the conclusion of my final cross country season in another post, but by the end of the season the extra miles had me pretty beat up. By my logic, at that stage if I was only running one mile instead of 3.1 I could have easily bested my PR of 6:01. If I were rested and attempted it I bet I would have been in the mid-low 5 minute range. Maybe even as low as a 5:15. Unfortunately, I’ll never know. I think that since I had improved my times much that year that if I had really pushed myself and hadn’t stopped running I could have broken the 5 minute mark for a single mile. And that, to me, is a pretty quick mile time. And so, I have it in my mind that I am going to return to that same level of fitness and surpass it. It is my goal to run a mile in under 5 minutes. It might be ambitious considering my current condition, but I am giving myself a year to complete it. This will help to keep me focused and driven. Hopefully some of you internet users stumble upon on this blog and cheer me on. I think I’m going to need all the help I can get!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

